New Twists On Old Excuses

It never ceases to amaze me at how my students still use the same, tired excuses for not turning in work. Back in the day, saying, “It got wet,” or “My brother ate it ,” were standard. But now, my kids have a whole new angle on avoiding turning in work.

When I asked one particular class why they hadn’t turned in an assigned poster  project, too many of them told me some high-tech one-liners: “I don’t have a printer,” “I can’t write this much information,” “We went on vacation, and I didn’t have time to finish,” “The laptop crashed,”  “No way to get to a public library [to use the free computers],” and “My subject wasn’t on the Internet.”

Things haven’t changed…….

Leave a Reply

