Too Much Knowledge?

8-x35--Fiesta-Streamer-246733

Teaching Spanish to the little ones can sometimes be a blend of funny and frustration.

One of my second-grade girls, was having a bit of trouble with remembering words for the basic colors.  Now, having been at the school a couple of years  before teaching Spanish, I had her in kindergarten, and of course, we learned the words then. When I reminded her about this, she gave me an exasperated look, and said:  “Ms. ______, I already have way too much stuff to remember from this year! How can you expect my brain to keep all of that stuff back from a long time ago?

I explained that knowledge is like a a layer cake—you build upon each segment of learning, but she wasn’t having have any part of that. she just kept saying, “My head can only hold on so much stuff…”   Go figure!

Leave a Reply

